The Cool Factor

I’m trying to document my life more. When I was in college, I was always the one with the camera. I got into the habit of carrying it with me at all times just in case something epically college-esque happened.

It was my 21st birthday. I don't normally wear tiaras.

It was my 21st birthday. I don’t normally wear tiaras.

The camera that captured that photo later broke after being dropped on the ground by a drunk roommate with the lens out. I bought a new one (exact same model because I hate change) that I still own. It’s like the camera version of the nokia cell phone.

When I went to Malawi, I took over 1,000 pictures in the first week. And then Russ kissed me and I put my camera down for the next two years.

This was pre-kiss. We hugged like this when we were just friends...

This was pre-kiss. We hugged like this when we were just friends…

Things have been busy since that moment (I guess falling in love takes a lot of your spare time away or something) and my camera has stayed pretty stashed. I still cart it around in my purse every day, but all it does now is contribute to the constant shoulder cramp I get from carrying a 15 pound bag all the time.

It doesn’t help that Russ is an incredible photographer. His monster camera puts my little pocket Canon to shame. So most of the time, unless we’re doing something that warrants brining his giant lenses along, it goes undocumented.

But no more! We do cool things and I want to remember them. And maybe I want to post them on my blog and make the things that we do seem way cooler than they might actually be. So what?!

The other night, we actually scheduled a date. We went to a cool, new restaurant that didn’t have any reservations open, so I got dressed up and we went to dinner at 6:00 on a Friday night like a couple of fogies and it was delightful!

We ordered fancy cocktails!

This restaurant was so fancy that they had their name stamped on the lemon twist in your drink.

This restaurant was so fancy that they had their name stamped on the lemon twist in your drink.

We made fun of the tiny little appetizer that turned out to be a burst of goat cheese heaven.

Seriously. Heaven.

Seriously. Heaven.

And we got to actually hang out with each other like we used to. At about 8:00, our dinner was over, we were full and exhausted and generally old. As we stood up to leave, we suddenly realized that we were surrounded. In the last two hours, all of midtown had poured in. There were trendy outfits and hipster hats everywhere and I couldn’t have run out of that restaurant fast enough.

Fogies. I told you.

We ended the night on our chez lounge and got like 12 hours of sleep and it was the greatest date night in history.

Cool or not, I wouldn’t trade our mutual aversion to stylish crowds for anything.

This photo still wasn't taken with my camera. Hello iPhone!

This photo still wasn’t taken with my camera. Hello iPhone!

Leave a Reply

