Crock Pot Saves the Day

Feeding a 6’3″ man can be challenging (my props go out to his mother that fed him and his brother throughout their teen years!). He works out, he’s genetically thin, and he will eat whatever measly portion of food I put in front of him and insist that it’s enough.

In my adventures as an almost wife (and full time employee), I’ve become a big advocate for casseroles, lasagnas, soups, and anything else that you can make once and will last for 3 or 4 meals. And I’m an even bigger advocate for recipes that you can throw together with random stuff that you have sitting in the door of your refrigerator.

Despite my vegetarian handicap, I knew when I saw this recipe that it would be a winner. Russ will eat this stuff with a spoon, on a slab of bread, on top of salad, rice, cous cous, etc, and can you blame him? Even I want to eat this stuff with a spoon (and I usually do before I pour the mixture over the chicken…).

I scanned the short list of ingredients, pulled my hand-me-down crock pot out of the cupboard, and within about 4 minutes, this baby was cooking and I was on my way to a meeting.

I couldn't get a very appetizing picture of raw chicken in bbq sauce, so here's one of my pretty little crockpot!

I couldn’t get a very appetizing picture of raw chicken in bbq sauce, so here’s one of my pretty little crockpot!

I’m also learning that recipes can be flexible. I had just used the last of our brown sugar on an attempt to re-make pumpkin chocolate chip bread (not recipe worthy yet, but Russ will eat it with a smile) so I improvised and threw some honey in the mix instead. Natural sweetener is better than sugar anyway right?

Keep your fingers crossed that 3 chicken breasts will last for a couple days while I munch on all of the fresh greens from our most recent CSA box!

So many veggies!

So many veggies!

What are your favorite crock pot recipes and how do you make food last in your house?

3 thoughts on “Crock Pot Saves the Day

  1. Easy–my partner does all the cooking and most of the grocery shopping! Thus I don’t have to worry about it šŸ˜›

    Crock pots are wonderful though! My favourite crock pot dish is chili, the slow cooking is how it’s really meant to be done, I think.

Leave a Reply

