Lorax Style

Before we even started looking for a house to buy, Russ and I always talked about wanting to plant a tree and take a photo next to it every year. Something about it felt symbolic – starting with something really small, nurturing it and watching it grow with you.

I think it’s the same reason I love gardening (though Russ has the green thumb). It’s just amazing to watch a seed or a twiggy little tree become a flourishing life form and to remind you that so much can change in just one day.

So yesterday, we finally planted our tree!

IMG_0563

It seriously is a little twig in the ground, but we gave it a good start in its new home and are so excited to watch it grow.

IMG_0565

IMG_0566

In other news, I’m starting to realize that I’ve been less than glamorous in all of my photos lately. House work just doesn’t naturally lend to glamor, I guess. I know the projects will never end, but I have high hopes (encouraged by this blog) that I’ll start at least showering before we get to work so that I don’t spend the rest of my life in dirty jeans and a ponytail…

Any secrets for balancing beauty and a never ending project list?

Leave a Reply

